
Founding Fathers Frequently Asked Questions
January 8, 2024 – Transition to Civil War during an Election

Questions & Answers
Setting Up the Game
Q. Where is the Tension Track “0” box? The Peace box.

The Issues
Q. Does a new President get to see all 4 Issues at once or only one at a time? One at a time

Q. When the President delegates an Issue to the Vice President, does the President also receive any 
resulting Popularity gains or losses? Yes (the buck stops at his desk)

Q. What powers does a Vice President have when handling an issue? The Vice President player can talk to 
the other players and decide how the administration will respond to the Issue, for example, which 
resolution option and whether to ignore it. They can also appoint up to two Offices and handle any 
Initiatives that the Issue may require.

Q. If the Requirements for a revealed Issue are not met and it has a Hand of Time icon, is the Hand of 
Time event triggered? Yes

Q. What if the President is unable to convince anyone to accept a particular Office, perhaps because of a 
difficult to resolve Issue? In this situation only, the President has two possibilities: (a) choose the Ignored 
option, or assign the Office to a Statesman in his own faction (even if the Statesman is of the wrong party 
and/or already has an Office, in violation of the usual rules if necessary).

Q. What if there are two responsible Officers for an Issue and one wants to solve it, but the other does 
not? May the first add Influence to make up the difference and solve it anyway? No, both Officers must 
agree to solve it

Q. What if there are insufficient Statesmen to assign all the offices? In that case each Statesmen other than 
the President is eligible to hold two offices. Once each has two, if there are still vacant offices, each may have
three, and so on.

Q. In the scenarios some Statesman begin with Popularity at the side of the card. If such a Statesman 
later loses Popularity, can these starting Popularity cubes be the ones removed? Yes

Q. What if Popularity would go below the starting amount? Indicate using the black Unpopularity cubes.

Q. Can the President appoint one Statesman General and then give this Office to another Statesman in 
the same term? No, the President only appoints a General once per term, except when the Office is vacated 
during the term.

Q. If the President changes the General because he is not of the same party, must the new choice be of 
the President's party? Yes.

Q. When awarding/deducting Popularity for handing an Issue, what is the order of results? Does this 
part happen first and the rest of the instructions later or does everything happen simultaneously? Apply 
results sequentially, first addition/subtraction of any Popularity, then the rest of the instructions on the card.

Q. Does repeal of a Tariff reverse its effect on Revenue as with other taxes? Yes

Q. Does passing an Emergency Bonds trigger a roll on The Outrage Table or worsen it for other taxes? No



Q. Can one play Expose a Spy on one's own Statesman to remove an Officer and thereby avoid Popularity
losses from an issue? You can play the card on yourself, but only if you have a second Statesman who also 
holds a Partisan Office. Note that once a Statesman has spent Influence on behalf of an Issue, or if no 
Influence was required, once the Congressional vote has started, he is the responsible Officer and takes any 
Popularity gains or losses from that Issue, not his replacement. 

Q. If we resolve the End Slavery Issue, does this mean that resolution of the Extension of Slavery Issue is 
no longer a prerequisite for the Maine and Missouri State Admission Issues, and also that the Slaves Tax 
is removed from play? Yes

Q. Can I play Coalition Building to add to my votes on an Issue after I have already voted on it? You can 
play the card, but as you have already voted it does not count for the vote on that Issue. It applies to 
subsequent votes in that turn. 

The Election
Q. What if Andrew Jackson or William Henry Harrison runs for election before his state (Tennessee, 
Ohio) has been admitted? Treat the Carolinas as the home state for Jackson, Virginia for Harrison.

Q. What if a party does not have enough Statesmen to run a team for the election? Treat the election as if 
Single Party Dominance were in effect, for the other party.

Q. What if both parties lack sufficient Statesmen to run for the election? The game ends at the start of The 
Election. Score points as if the game had ended in Civil War.

Q. In a Single Party Dominance election, in what order do Presidential candidates choose their Vice 
Presidential nominees? In reverse Popularity order, that is, lowest Popularity first (resolving ties by Age as 
usual).

Q. In a Single Party Dominance election the four candidates of the party having the most Popularity are 
all eligible to run. But what if one of these is the sitting President, who is not party leader and therefore 
not normally eligible to run? Such a President can run so long as they are one of the four most Popular.

Q. In a Single Party Dominance before the 12th Amendment election, what if a Vice Presidential 
candidate cannot place their initial cube because there is no vacancy? They place in their running mate's 
state if there is a vacancy there, adjacent to that state if there is not.

Q. What are the options for a candidate from a disconnected area, such as John C. Frémont in California, 
when there are no more vacancies in his starting region? He may place in any vacant state in any other 
region, including the original one. From there he must continue placing only in adjacent states in that region
until blocked, at which point he may only place if there is a third disconnected area having a vacancy.

Q. For the Free Soil Party card, can you give more detail about how to resolve the Carolinas vote? The 
card is representing the fact that in 1848 North Carolina voted one way and South Carolina the other. Thus, 
after the 12th Amendment half the Carolinas votes go to the other side. Before the 12th Amendment or in the 
case of Single Party Dominance, choose candidates other than those present to receive half the votes.

Q. If a candidate loses their only cube due to an Action card such as Liberty Party, can they still 
participate in the Election? Yes, they can still expand out from their starting state (if a slot is available). 

Q. When the Chief Justice decides an election, who is eligible? Only the candidates tied for the most 
states. 



The People
Q. Is a change to party leader immediate or only possible in The People phase? Immediate. When 
resolving an Issue, award (or deduct) Popularity first and then apply the rest of the Issue instructions.

Q. Is it permitted to show other players your held Action cards? Ye

Q. What happens to the Theory of Judicial Review card after it is played? Recommend you store it with 
the Resolved Issues.

Q. For purposes of the Duel card, when is a player's turn? The player's Round during The People Phase

Q. When in the Duel Statesmen are removed from the game do both score their Popularity cubes in the 
normal way? Yes

Q. What happens if Lewis Cass or Hannibal Hamlin are drawn, but because of Issue results their states 
can never come into the Union? Remove the Statesman from play and draw a replacement.

Q. The Action Cards Theory of Nullification Applied, Hartford Convention and Secession have two 
options for play. Must the requirements to play each of these cards be satisfied to play either option or 
just the first one? Just the first one.

Q. What if the Public Support marker would go beyond the end of the track? It never goes beyond the 
end. 

Q. If a Newspaper cube reaches the right edge of the bottom track, does it move up automatically during 
the next Publish Newspapers step or only if the Party Leader (Postmaster) chooses to move it? 
Automatically.

Victory Conditions
Q. What if the game ends in a tie? For a longish game like this, a shared victory is the best way to 
characterize such a result. But if you really need a winner, for example in a tournament situation, apply the 
following priorities to the tied players: (1) most combined Ability on Statesmen; (2) youngest average age; 
(3) youngest individual Statesman in play.

Offices & Statesmen Expansion
Q. In High Tension Election, what is the order of declarations for the two optional presidential 
candidates? If anyone cares about the order, start with the party that does not have Public Support. If this 
doesn't determine an order, choose in reverse age order (that is, youngest Statesman first).

Q. In High Tension Election, can you say more about the cube placement order? Yes, place in order of 
most Popularity to least Popularity, but first all the candidates for President, then the candidates for Vice 
President.

Q. In the Solitaire Variant, when not President and the responsible officer has more than one option for 
an Issue, such as “Napoleon Seeks Help”, which does the Opponent choose? The one that maximizes its 
Public Support gains, failing that, its IP gains and then the earlier option. If resolution requires multiple 
officers and some are with the player and some with the Opponent, the Opponent only resolves its preferred
option; if the player does not comply, the Opponent fails the Issue instead.

Q. In Solo/Two-player games, how does one assign a new Office when it arrives at a different time?. When 
a new Office, for example, Secretary of the Navy, appears in the middle of a turn, the player who has the 
fewer Offices other than Presidency and Vice President has first right to draft it, unless the player has no 
eligible politician without an Office and the other player has, in which case this player takes the Office. 



Break ties in favor of the player having more Votes,; if still tied, in favor of the President payer. Choose a 
replacement Office holder in the same way if one dies.

Q. What if there are insufficient available Statesmen having Military Ability to appoint a Secretary of the 
Navy? If other appointees could have taken the Office, they take it instead. Failing that, give priority to those
having Military Ability. If this does not yield any candidates, open the Office to all Statesman, including 
those without Military Ability and treat them as having one less Ability for purposes of the Office.

Ladies & Orators Expansion
• Rings. When a Statesman becomes President, remove any rings. A presidential candidate takes a ring if they 
fail to become President, even if they become Vice President. A ring does not inhibit a Statesman from 
becoming president via succession.
• You cannot play a Spouse card to a female character.
• A Statesman who is Tried for Sedition loses any Office held. The President should appoint a replacement.
• If the sitting President is not party leader, but the leader cannot run, or declines to run, and the President 
has the second most popularity, the president can nevertheless run. 
• When a player has a Spouse card in play and the corresponding character appears, do not put it into play, 
but into the player's hand. (If her State is not in the Union it would not be immediately playable.)
• When a female character dies, remove any corresponding Spouse card from play. If the Spouse card was 
in a player's hand, they immediately draw a replacement Action card.

Civil War & the Gilded Age expansion
The Issues
• Timing of conversion to the expansion board and rules. Convert to the sequel game when you have 
revealed the first Era D Issue, following the rule that the highest lettered card you've seen defines the 
current Era.
• If in replacing Statesmen during the outbreak of the Civil War you run out of replacements, shuffle up the 
next Generation deck and draw them from there.
• If using house tokens in the base game and you enter Era D from Era B, add 2 house tokens at that time.
• After the first Era D Issue appears, if an Issue does not meet its requirements and it has a Hand of Time 
icon, do not trigger the Hand of Time event.
• Parties of the Era I Statesmen: If Civil War breaks out, John Quincy Adams and William Henry Harrison 
join the Republicans; Andrew Jackson and William H. Crawford the Democrats.
• If the Civil War breaks out, do not remove Jessie Benton from play.
Individual Issues
• On the New Mexico State Admission card add: Required: Mexican-American War resolved
• Does resolving the War for Louisiana imply “Louisiana Purchase complete”? Yes.
• If the Buy Western Lands Issue appears during the Civil War and Texas is part of the union, the Issue’s 
requirements are not met. If Texas is not part of the union, the Issue’s requirements are met.
• Initiating Civil War, Lee Defiant Issues: “Set Tension to 4” should read “Set Tension to 3”.
• If the President becomes ill, do they stay in the game until the retirement phase? Yes.
• Some early copies of the A War to End All Wars card contain the word “Construction”. This should be 
“Conscription”.
• Underground Railroad. If the Civil War starts again, execute again all the steps described in Civil War 
Begins.



The Election
• Party Leader and the Two-Time Loser rule. When using the Two-Time Loser rule in Era D and later, if a 
Party Leader has no party rivals within 2 Popularity they are the nominee, unless they have 2 black rings 
(exception: if they have the Third Time's a Charm card they are the nominee). In the latter case, ignore 
members of that party having 2 rings. Treat the one with the most Popularity who does not have 2 rings as 
the Party Leader for Election purposes only.
• Smoke-filled Rooms examples: The examples show the way a “dark horse” candidate can become the 
nominee. The Garfield candidate is initially out of consideration because his Popularity is too low, but the 
rule should state that this is temporary. He comes back into consideration after all the leading candidates tie 
and thus cancel one another out.
• High Tension Election. An election held when Tension is at Civil War is a High Tension Election.
• If the President dies and is succeeded by a member of the other party, reset the Election Table.
• If Civil War begins in the midst of a base game election, continue resolving the election under the base 
game rules and only transition to the expansion rules after the election is complete.
Scenarios
• Scenario F: George B. McClellan (III) is available for this scenario.

Advice
Running out of small Popularity cubes.
This probably means that a lot of Statesmen are holding exactly four Popularity. If this is the case, another 
way to represent four small white cubes is to take one large white cube (worth 5) and one black cube (worth 
-1). This should free up a supply of smaller cubes.

Handling the Action card drafting order. 
With five or six players it can be difficult to remember the order, so each player should add their victory 
points to the popularity cube total on their Statesmen. Then record this amount by placing one of their disks 
to the side of the number on the Victory Points track (on the side to avoid confusing it with the Victory 
Points disk). These disks now give the drafting order, from lowest to highest. In the case of ties, break by 
examining the Votes in Congress track and stack the disks so that the player choosing earlier is on top. Take 
back the disks after card drafting is complete to avoid confusing them with the Victory Points disks.

Convenient way to tabulate the Electoral Vote.
As each side's votes are counted, use its cubes to temporarily record its vote total on the Revenue track.

CORRECTIONS (only needed if game purchased before 1/25/15 and not using the upgrade kit)

• The responsible Officer for state admissions is now the Secretary of State rather than the President.
• In Scenario C, change all mentions of William H. Crawford to William Seward. Crawford is not 

available for this scenario.
• The Alabama state admission Issue requires the Indian Removal Act.
• The Minnesota and Wisconsin state admission Issues do not require the Indian Removal Act. 
• The Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin and Minnesota state Admission Issues require “NW 

Indian War resolved".
• The Requirement portion of the Financial Panic Issue should read “Required: National Bank inactive and 

Specie Circular”.
• Add to the “Failed/Ignored” portion of the Create National Bank and De-funding Bank of the USA 

issues the instruction “Place in next deck.”
Upgrade kit link: https://www.thegamecrafter.com/games/founding-fathers-upgrade-kit

https://www.thegamecrafter.com/games/founding-fathers-upgrade-kit

